Backup, restore and U2F?

Can I use the backup and restore feature so that I can keep a physical onlykey backup copy, that I can still use for MFA with U2F? I haven’t used the backup/restore features yet and would like to have a physical backup that I can continue to use for MFA/U2F setups I have with my primary key, in case it gets lost or destroyed. I’ve been using my onlykey for a few years now, and it is awesome!

I think U2F would continue to work from a backup/restore on another physical onlykey, but am curious if I should update to latest firmware or anything before backing up and testing a restore on another key? I wanted to ask first before purchasing another one and attempting

You would follow instructions here to upgrade firmware - OnlyKey User's Guide | Docs

If you have firmware v0.2-beta.6 or earlier you would have to reregister U2F after upgrading. Backup devices will work for U2F.

@t11 Sorry I’m slow doing that and am working the nerve up to actually do this now. So when you say that I’d have to re-register U2F after upgrading, are you saying that my first key, which is on OnlyKey v0.2-beta.8c currently, that if I upgrade the firmware on it, that I’d then have to re-register it with every site and application it’s tied to currently?

What I’m trying to do is to in effect clone the U2F from my first onlykey over to this backup onlykey so that they are the same and that I can stick the backup in a safe.

I think I’m OK in upgrading the firmware on my original device, since it’s on OnlyKey v0.2-beta.8c and that I would not have to re-register U2F everywhere?

So when you say that I’d have to re-register U2F after upgrading, are you saying that my first key, which is on OnlyKey v0.2-beta.8c currently, that if I upgrade the firmware on it, that I’d then have to re-register it with every site and application it’s tied to currently?